Waldeinsamkeit

At the edge of a forest, blanketed in frost and snow,

I discovered the boundary between the universe and nonexistence.

 

Snow fell silently, my breath producing apparitions in the air.

Time slowed as I reached out my hand

in order to caress the void with my fingers.

 

The texture of nothingness is indescribable.

I tried to build a schema in order to understand its consistency

but my fingers craved matter and gravity.

The absence of atoms is cold and cavernous.

 

I pulled back my hand, and set out my foot beyond the edge

but I lost my balance and plummeted into the unknown.

The universe, a flat image painted onto the canvas of eternity,

drifted away, and I sang oblivion hymns

as I fell

 

and fell

 

and fell.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

